For an Australian cosmetic, aesthetic or skin clinic, the best software is one system that runs bookings, the front desk, memberships, consent and records together, set up around the AHPRA and TGA advertising rules. Below, 12 systems are compared using only each company's own website, read on 1 November 2026. I make Clinic App, one of the 12, so weigh that, and check every link.
Updated 1 November 2026
Most "best clinic software" lists are written by a vendor ranking itself first. This one is too, in a sense, so I have tried to make it useful anyway: every claim about another system links to that system's own page, prices are dated, and where a page didn't settle something I say so instead of guessing. A blank is not a "no".
Aesthetic clinic software in Australia: the 12 at a glance
| System | Built for | Price shown | Data in Australia | Memberships | Loyalty | Clinic's own patient app |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pabau | Clinics | Not published | Not stated (London, plus Singapore "for APAC customers") | Yes | Yes, points | Not described (Pabau GO is a staff app) |
| Zenoti | Beauty, fitness and wellness | Quote | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes, its Consumer Mobile App |
| Aesthetic Nurse Software | Medical aesthetics | From A$50 a month, 1 practitioner | Not stated | Not described | Not described | Not described |
| Consentz | Clinics; designed by an aesthetic doctor | Not published | Not stated (primary hosting in the UK) | Not described | Not described | Not described |
| Clinicminds | Private clinics | Per practitioner, from €160 a month | Not stated (AWS) | Packages yes; memberships not described | Not described | Not described |
| Fresha | Businesses that take bookings | From A$44.95 a month | Not stated | Yes | Paid add-on, A$89.95 per location a month | Not described (lists a client booking app) |
| Timely | Salons ("powered by salon professionals") | From A$42 per staff a month, ex GST | Not promised ("the United States and in Australia") | No (Timely says so); packages yes | On higher plans | Client login |
| Cliniko | Clinics and allied health | From A$45 a month, ex GST | Yes, for new Australian accounts | Not described | Not described | Not described |
| Phorest | Salons and aesthetic clinics | Quote | Not stated | Yes | Yes, Treatcard | Yes, as an add-on or in a package |
| Aesthetic Record | Aesthetic practices; US pharmacy network | $15 per user a month plus $399 startup (no currency shown) | Not stated | Yes | Not described | No, a browser portal (Aesthetic Record says so) |
| AestheticX | Australian aesthetic medicine | Not published | Yes | Not described | Not described | Not described (iOS app for the care team) |
| Clinic App | Australian cosmetic and skin clinics | Quoted after a free audit | Yes, Sydney | Yes | Yes | Yes, in the App Store under the clinic's name |
Sources, one per system: Pabau security, Zenoti features, ANS price plans, Consentz privacy policy, Clinicminds pricing, Fresha pricing, Timely pricing, Cliniko security, Phorest AU pricing, Aesthetic Record pricing and the AestheticX home page. The ANS price is the page's own conversion to Australian dollars. Prices change, so check them before you sign.
Which aesthetic clinic software has the features clinics ask about?
Which aesthetic clinic software has built-in loyalty?
Points-based loyalty is described by Pabau and Phorest (its Treatcard), and Zenoti has a loyalty programs feature. Timely lists loyalty rewards on its higher plans. Fresha sells Client Loyalty as an add-on at A$89.95 per location a month. Clinic App has points, rewards and referrals in the one system, and points never apply to prescription-only treatments.
Which aesthetic clinic software has memberships and packages?
Memberships are described by Pabau, Zenoti, Fresha, Phorest, Aesthetic Record and Clinic App, and most of them describe recurring billing. Timely says it "does not currently have a feature for managing memberships" and suggests workarounds, though it does sell packages. Clinicminds lists treatment packages and patient wallets.
Which aesthetic clinic software has digital consent forms?
Almost all of them. Consentz, Pabau, Zenoti, Phorest, Fresha, Aesthetic Record, Clinicminds, ANS and AestheticX describe digital consent forms. Timely calls them consultation forms, and Cliniko describes customised intake forms. Clinic App stores the exact wording each patient agreed to with their signature, versioned, and an under-18 can't complete consent without a parent or guardian.
Which aesthetic clinic software gives the clinic its own patient app?
Zenoti describes a Consumer Mobile App that can carry the clinic's logo on the app stores, and Phorest sells a "fully branded iOS and Android app" as an add-on or in its Elevate Aesthetics package. Clinic App publishes each clinic's own app in the App Store. Aesthetic Record says its patient portal runs in a browser, with "no separate app to download". The apps Pabau, Consentz and AestheticX describe are for staff, and Clinicminds' iPad and iPhone apps read that way too.
Which aesthetic clinic software has AI?
Pabau and Zenoti describe AI receptionists that answer calls. Fresha sells an AI Concierge add-on, Phorest has Front Desk AI, Clinicminds has the Quinn AI scribe (labelled beta) and Aesthetic Record has ChartSmart AI. Clinic App's AI front desk answers patient messages, runs in Australia, never books or takes money, and is told never to name a prescription medicine or give medical advice. Before you switch any AI on, read the AI rules for Australian cosmetic clinics.
Which clinic software keeps patient data in Australia?
Three say so on their own pages: Cliniko (for new Australian accounts), AestheticX and Clinic App, which hosts patient data in Sydney. Timely says it hosts data "in the United States and in Australia". Pabau's primary environment is in London, with a Singapore region for APAC customers, and Consentz hosts in the UK. The others don't say where.
Which clinic software is built around the AHPRA and TGA rules?
No software can make a clinic compliant. Aesthetic Nurse Software says it plainly on its Australia page: "No software can guarantee that a clinic is compliant with AHPRA requirements." I agree. Your clinic stays responsible for its own advertising, whatever system it uses.
What software can do is make the rules hard to break by accident. Many of the systems here describe their compliance in terms of overseas laws, such as HIPAA and GDPR. Cliniko names the Australian Privacy Principles, and AestheticX lists "AHPRA & ABN on every identity" and an off-label clause on every consent. Clinic App is built around the advertising rules a cosmetic clinic works under:
- Points, rewards, discounts and offers never apply to Schedule 4 (prescription-only) treatments.
- Campaigns, automatic messages and review requests are checked for prescription medicine names, including disguised spellings, before they send.
- Review requests never offer points or rewards for a review.
- Consent wording is stored with each signature, and treatment records are amended or struck out, never deleted.
Which aesthetic clinic software should your clinic choose?
Choose on how your clinic runs, not on the longest feature list.
- A multidisciplinary or allied health clinic that wants Australian-owned software with Australian hosting: look at Cliniko.
- A multi-site group: Zenoti says its multi-location pricing is "customized based on your footprint and needs".
- A solo injector on a tight budget: Aesthetic Nurse Software publishes a low starting price for one practitioner.
- A prescribing workflow between nurses and doctors, with payments handled elsewhere: AestheticX is built around it.
- A salon that also offers aesthetics: Phorest and Timely come from that world.
- An Australian cosmetic or skin clinic that wants everything in one system, built around the AHPRA and TGA rules and set up in person: that is what Clinic App is for.
Why does one system matter for a cosmetic clinic?
A clinic's day doesn't split neatly into bookings, money and clinical notes. When they live in separate tools, each one keeps its own copy of the patient, and each goes out of date in its own way. A membership is billed in one place, the treatment is recorded in another, and the reward is tracked in a third, so nobody can see whether a prescription treatment slipped into an offer.
Clinic App runs the diary and online booking, front desk checkout and payments, memberships, packages, gift vouchers, rewards, consent, treatment records and reports on one record per patient. More in why one system beats a stack.
Can you switch cosmetic clinic software without losing client history?
Usually, yes. Our importer is built for Fresha and Timely exports today: your client list, visit history, gift vouchers and package balances come across, with a preview before anything is saved. From another system, bring your exports to the audit and we'll go through what moves. Saved cards can't move, so patients re-save them. How easy is it to switch clinic software? has the full checklist. We do the move with the clinic, and Zoe onboards in person.
Go deeper: clinic software compared
Clinic App compared, system by system
- Clinic App vs Pabau
- Clinic App vs Zenoti
- Clinic App vs Aesthetic Nurse Software
- Clinic App vs Consentz
- Clinic App vs Clinicminds
- Clinic App vs Fresha
- Clinic App vs Timely
- Clinic App vs Cliniko
- Clinic App vs Phorest
- Clinic App vs Aesthetic Record
- Clinic App vs AestheticX
Switching and setup
- All-in-one clinic software: why one system beats a stack
- How easy is it to switch clinic software?
- Why I fly out to set up your clinic software in person
- How to train your clinic team on new software
Best-of guides by clinic type
- Best loyalty program app for clinics: the sub-guide for loyalty and membership apps
- Best booking system for cosmetic clinics
- Best laser clinic software
- Best white-label apps for clinics
- Best apps for beauty salons and skin clinics
- Best patient engagement apps
- Aglow vs Clinic App, head to head
Does your booking system have a loyalty program?
- Does Fresha have a loyalty program?
- Fresha alternatives for loyalty and memberships
- Timely loyalty program
- Does Cliniko have a loyalty program? And how to add one
- Phorest loyalty (TreatCard) and when clinics add a layer on top
- Jane App loyalty program
- Mindbody loyalty program
- Ovatu loyalty program
- Pabau loyalty program
- Shortcuts loyalty program
- Zanda (Power Diary) loyalty
- Kitomba loyalty add-on
- Simple Salon loyalty
- Vagaro loyalty alternative
- Zenoti membership alternative
Medical and GP practice software
Frequently asked questions
What is the best software for aesthetic clinics in Australia?
It depends on how your clinic runs. For an Australian cosmetic or skin clinic that wants bookings, the front desk, memberships, consent and records in one system, set up around the AHPRA and TGA rules, Clinic App is built for that. Cliniko is built for clinics and allied health, Zenoti for beauty, fitness and wellness businesses, and Phorest and Timely for salons as well as clinics. I make Clinic App, so check each system's own pages, which are linked in this guide.
Which aesthetic clinic software has built-in loyalty?
Pabau and Phorest describe points-based loyalty, Zenoti has a loyalty programs feature, Timely lists loyalty rewards on its higher plans, and Fresha sells loyalty as an add-on at A$89.95 per location a month. Clinic App has points, rewards and referrals built in, and points never apply to prescription-only treatments.
Which aesthetic clinic software has built-in memberships and packages?
Pabau, Zenoti, Fresha, Phorest, Aesthetic Record and Clinic App describe memberships. Timely says it does not have a memberships feature but sells packages, and Clinicminds lists treatment packages and patient wallets.
Which clinic software keeps patient data in Australia?
On their own pages, Cliniko (for new Australian accounts), AestheticX and Clinic App say patient data is stored in Australia. Clinic App hosts patient data in Sydney. Timely says it hosts data in the United States and in Australia, Pabau's primary environment is in London, and Consentz hosts in the UK.
Is any clinic software AHPRA compliant?
No software can make a clinic compliant, and Ahpra cannot approve advertising. Your clinic stays responsible for its own advertising. Clinic App is built around the AHPRA and TGA rules: points, rewards and offers never apply to prescription-only treatments, and campaigns are checked for prescription medicine names before they send.
Can I switch cosmetic clinic software without losing client history?
Usually, yes. Our importer is built for Fresha and Timely exports today: your client list, visit history, gift vouchers and package balances come across, with a preview before anything is saved. From another system, bring your exports to the audit and we'll go through what moves. Saved cards can't move, so patients save them again. With Clinic App, we do the move with the clinic, and Zoe onboards in person.